Winter is Here! Listens For Fans of ‘Game of Thrones’

While everyone else has spring cleaning and nice weather on the mind, we know what time it actually is…winter is finally here! AKA a new season of Game of Thrones!
I have to admit, I was a little late to the Game of Thrones bandwagon. As in, I wasn’t caught up until half-way through the seventh season airing, but the obsession is still real! Plus, who doesn’t love a good binge-watching session, am I right?

With the debut of the greatly-anticipated eighth and final season of Game of Thrones, we can only assume that you’re all caught up on what’s happened in Westeros thus far. If you’re just not ready to leave the fantasy world behind, don’t fret! We’ve pulled together an incredible book list of listens similar to the epic Game of Thrones series that’ll ease that “end-of-an-era” pain. Click here to view the full Fans of Game of Thrones book list.


The Raven Tower, by Ann Leckie narrated by Adjoa Andoh

A little on the nose with a title like The Raven Tower, and while this listen does have a similar setting complete with an usurper claiming the throne, blood rituals, invaders, and an all-seeing “Raven,” this award-winning and best-selling tale delves into a world where men and gods collide. A great gateway listen for sure!

Publisher’s Summary:
Gods meddle in the fates of men, men play with the fates of gods, and a pretender must be cast down from the throne in this masterful first fantasy novel from Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards.
For centuries, the kingdom of Iraden has been protected by the god known as the Raven. He watches over his territory from atop a tower in the powerful port of Vastai. His will is enacted through the Raven’s Lease, a human ruler chosen by the god himself. His magic is sustained via the blood sacrifice that every Lease must offer. And under the Raven’s watch, the city flourishes.
But the power of the Raven is weakening. A usurper has claimed the throne. The kingdom’s borders are tested by invaders who long for the prosperity that Vastai boasts. And they have made their own alliances with other gods.
It is into this unrest that the warrior Eolo–aide to Mawat, the true Lease–arrives. And in seeking to help Mawat reclaim his city, Eolo discovers that the Raven’s Tower holds a secret. Its foundations conceal a dark history that has been waiting to reveal itself…and to set in motion a chain of events that could destroy Iraden forever.

Read more and sample the audio →


The Name of the Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss narrated by Nick Podehl

In The Name of the Wind you follow orphan, Kvothe, who grows up to be a very powerful wizard. Kvothe’s story reminds me of Jon Snow’s similar yet unlikely rise to power despite his past. This is the first book in The Kingkiller Chronicle, so if you’re looking for another fantastic fantasy series to jump into look no further.

Publisher’s Summary:
My name is Kvothe.
I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.
You may have heard of me.
So begins a tale unequaled in fantasy literature—the story of a hero told in his own voice. It is a tale of sorrow, a tale of survival, a tale of one man’s search for meaning in his universe, and how that search, and the indomitable will that drove it, gave birth to a legend.

Read more and sample the audio →


The Fifth Season, by N. K. Jemisin narrated by Robin Miles

Death, betrayal, secret powers, and the end of the world? Sign me up! N. K. Jemisin was the first author to win three consecutive Huge Awards for each novel in this epic fantasy trilogy. Plus, the Fifth Season is currently being adapted into a TV series to be aired on TNT. If you’re transfixed by all of the Lannister’s family secrets, this read will have you hooked.

Publisher’s Summary:
This is the way the world ends…for the last time.
A season of endings has begun.
It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world’s sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.
It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.
It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.
This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

Read more and sample the audio →


Sins of Empire, by Brian McClellan narrated by Christian Rodska

Sins of Empire follows multiple character’s stories and as the novel progresses you get to see how each story is intertwined with one another. The setting of Fatrasta, a magical world in turmoil, is all-too familiar to Game of Thrones buffs.

Publisher’s Summary:
A new epic fantasy series from highly acclaimed fantasy author, Brian McClellan, set in the same world as The Powder Mage trilogy.

A world on the cusp of a new age…
The young nation of Fatrasta is a turbulent place — a frontier destination for criminals, fortune-hunters, brave settlers, and sorcerers seeking relics of the past. Only the iron will of the lady chancellor and her secret police holds the capital city of Landfall together against the unrest of an oppressed population and the machinations of powerful empires.

Sedition is a dangerous word…
The insurrection that threatens Landfall must be purged with guile and force, a task which falls on the shoulders of a spy named Michel Bravis, convicted war hero Mad Ben Styke, and Lady Vlora Flint, a mercenary general with a past as turbulent as Landfall’s present.

The past haunts us all…
As loyalties are tested, revealed, and destroyed, a grim specter as old as time has been unearthed in this wild land, and the people of Landfall will soon discover that rebellion is the least of their worries.

Read more and sample the audio →


The Queen of the Tearling, by Erika Johansen narrated by Katherine Kellgren

This exciting debut novel from Erika Johansen sets in motion an intense trilogy that follows the rightful heir to her mother’s throne, princess Kelsea. For Game of Thrones enthusiasts, you’ll be pleased with the politics of ruling a kingdom and the bits of magic peppered throughout this read.

Publisher’s Summary:
Magic, adventure, mystery, and romance combine in this epic debut in which a young princess must reclaim her dead mother’s throne, learn to be a ruler—and defeat the Red Queen, a powerful and malevolent sorceress determined to destroy her.
On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey back to the castle of her birth to ascend her rightful throne. Plain and serious, a girl who loves books and learning, Kelsea bears little resemblance to her mother, the vain and frivolous Queen Elyssa. But though she may be inexperienced and sheltered, Kelsea is not defenseless: Around her neck hangs the Tearling sapphire, a jewel of immense magical power; and accompanying her is the Queen’s Guard, a cadre of brave knights led by the enigmatic and dedicated Lazarus. Kelsea will need them all to survive a cabal of enemies who will use every weapon—from crimson-caped assassins to the darkest blood magic—to prevent her from wearing the crown.
Despite her royal blood, Kelsea feels like nothing so much as an insecure girl, a child called upon to lead a people and a kingdom about which she knows almost nothing. But what she discovers in the capital will change everything, confronting her with horrors she never imagined. An act of singular daring will throw Kelsea’s kingdom into tumult, unleashing the vengeance of the tyrannical ruler of neighboring Mortmesne: the Red Queen, a sorceress possessed of the darkest magic. Now Kelsea will begin to discover whom among the servants, aristocracy, and her own guard she can trust.
But the quest to save her kingdom and meet her destiny has only just begun—a wondrous journey of self-discovery and a trial by fire that will make her a legend . . . if she can survive.

Read more and sample the audio →


New to Audiobooks.com? Get a free audiobook when you sign up for our one month free trial. Digital audiobooks make audible stories come to life when you’re commuting, working out, cleaning, cooking and more! Listening is easy with our top-rated free audiobook apps for iOS and Android, which let you download & listen to bestselling audiobooks on the go, wherever you are. Click here to get your free audiobook!

SHARE

No Responses | Leave a Comment


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *