Chilling Listens: What’s New in Horror

Spooky season is in full swing, which means now is the perfect time to dive into a new thrilling listen. As the colorful leaves begin to gather on the front yards in my neighborhood, there’s truly no better vibe than just curling up inside with some apple cider, pressing play on a new and chilling audiobook, and just escaping for a while. Sometimes, when I’m feeling extra wild, I’ll even light a candle.

Jokes aside, if you are looking to get scared this season, check out some of the newest horror listens below. From psychological thrillers to creepy paranormal listens, find your next fright before Halloween.


The Hollow Places by T. Kingfisher, narrated by Hillary Huber

If you enjoyed The Twisted Ones from T. Kingfisher, then you’ll definitely want to jump into their latest release, The Hollow Places, this season. This compelling horror novel follows a freshly divorced Kara who moves back in with her uncle and helps manage his museum of curiosities. Kara finds a hole in the wall that holds a hallway leading to countless portals to alternate realities that are haunted by creatures.

Read more and sample the audio →


Even If We Break by Marieke Nijkamp, narrated by Cassandra Morris, Jeffrey Brick, Julia Whelan, Mw Cartozian Wilson, Jer Adrianne Lelliott

Five friends are headed to a cabin for one last getaway before they go their separate ways. Their plan is to play their favorite murder mystery game, but when the game and reality start to blend with deadly consequences, it’s a race against the clock for “game over.” If you’re looking for the classic “teenagers at a cabin in the woods” type of listen with some shocking thrills along the way, look no further.

Read more and sample the audio →


These Violent Delights by Micah Nemerever, narrated by Michael Crouch

Fans of The Secret History will want to pick up These Violent Delights by Micah Nemerever. This unputdownable debut tells the story of two college students whose escalating obsession with one another leads to an act of unspeakable violence. Explore the depths of human desire and the darkness it can bring forth in us.

Read more and sample the audio →


The Hole by Sora Kim-Russell, Hye-Young Pyun, narrated by Tim Campbell

Looking for something a little different this season? In The Hole, Oghi wakes from a coma after causing the car accident that took his wife’s life and left him paralyzed and disfigured. He is left in the care of his mother-in-law who is grieving the loss of her only child. This listen is an unnerving story about the horrors of isolation and neglect in all of its banal and brutal forms.

Read more and sample the audio →


The Girl in the Mirror by Rose Carlyle, narrated by Holly Robinson

Everyone loves a good suspenseful thriller. I know I do! The Girl in the Mirror has everything you’ll need to keep you on the edge of your seat. A whodunit thriller mixed with family drama, topped with an evil twin, The Girl in the Mirror is a listen you can’t pass up!

Read more and sample the audio →


The Loop by Jeremy Robert Johnson, narrated by Inés Del Castillo

Turner Falls is a small town in the hills of western Oregon, the perfect town for a tourist’s getaway. When an outbreak develops, this slice of heaven becomes the epicenter of an epidemic. With teenagers ill, murderous, and on the loose, Lucy and her friends must do whatever it takes to survive the night. Fans of Stranger Things and World War Z will love this heart-racing dark satire.

Read more and sample the audio →


New to Audiobooks.com? Get your first book free, PLUS a bonus book from our VIP selection when you sign up for our one-month free trial. Digital audiobooks make audible stories come to life when you’re commuting, working out, cleaning, cooking, and more! Listening is easy with our top-rated free audiobook apps for iOS and Android, which let you download & listen to bestselling audiobooks on the go, wherever you are. Click here to get your free audiobooks!


No Responses | Leave a Comment


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *